Reviews from our guests

Tony Apartments Dubrovnik Dubrovnik Neretva County Dalmatia


Tony Owner
New-York-Times-logo

Croatia: Take Your Parents to Work Week

Private lodging provides almost four times as many beds in Croatia as hotels do, at least according to recent government data, and staying with hosts offers not only a peek into their family life but also a source of genuine insider advice.

That’s especially important in Dubrovnik, where most residents stay the heck out of the place most tourists make a beeline to: the impressive but overpriced walled old city.

On my first and last nights with my parents, we stayed in town in a great neighborhood, a 20-minute walk from the old city’s main gate, in a two-room apartment attached to the home of the talkative Tony Djuric. It cost us 60 euros a night, or $88. (Prices are commonly quoted in euros, although the Croatian kuna, about five to the dollar, is the currency for everyday transactions.) We barely met Tony’s wife, but we accompanied him, his 10-year-old son, Luka, and Luka’s classmate to a local beach and the grocery store to buy treats for Luka’s last-day-of-school party.

Tony seemed thrilled to talk about his job (he’s a “commercial man” at a bakery – we think he meant salesman, but aren’t sure) and his country’s complicated history.

You can get in touch with Tony in Dubrovnik at tony.dubrovnik.apartment@gmail.com or his site.

 

Source: THE NEW YORK TIMES TravlerBlog

 


Home away from home

I stayed with Tony and his family for one week. I was welcomed by Tony at the airport of Dubrovnik (he offers airport transfers) and on the way to the apartment he offered to show ne some sights that where on the way.

The apartment is fully equipped and was super clean.
Tony provided me with all the information I needed and was always available during my stay to answer my questions about "where to go" and "where to eT" etc.

He offered to take me on a trip to Mostar and this day trip was amazing and I learned a lot. Tony and his family live right next door and are lovely hosts. Thank you for a great week!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo

Canadian-Cowgirl1976


“Lovely apartment, friendly and gracious host!”

My husband and I hold wonderful memories of our stay at Apartments Tony. The apartments are in a good location, on a safe neighborhood street on a hill above the center of Dubrovnik. You can either take a 25-30 minute walk down the winding, charming stairs and streets to the city center or take a local bus, which is a fun experience that makes you feel like a local, as you ride along with schoolchildren, women going to market, etc. There is not too much in the way of shops or any restaurants right by the apartments, but we appreciated the quiet and calm that we could come back to after a day of sightseeing amongst other tourists and enjoying a nice meal in town. There is a small bakery just a bit down the road from the apartments that sells delicious Croatian pastries, where we would walk each morning to buy our breakfast.

The apartment itself was very clean, comfortable, modern and cheerfully decorated. While some water tended to leak out of the shower while it was being used, we placed a towel around it to soak up any water that escaped. Tony and his family (his wife and young son) were lovely, kind and welcoming. They invited us to their patio the evening we arrived, just a few steps from the apartments, and outside their house, to have a glass of wine and some grapes, as Tony spoke about Dubrovnik and other local spots we could visit. He is a very chatty, friendly and enthusiastic guy, who enjoys meeting visitors from all over and welcoming them to his city; and from our side, it was great having the chance to chat with a local. Upon leaving, Tony generously presented us with a beautiful hand-painted bottle of brandy. All in all, it was a truly memorable stay in stunning Dubrovnik.

abroaderperspective

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple


“Great host and service! Book early!”

I shall state that I did not actually stay at his wonderful apartment, but have received his great hospitality and service. This review is about his service.

Hostelworld booking error
I made a booking for his apartment through Hostelworld and they emailed to cancell the booking 2 weeks later. Tony contacted me and told me that Hostelworld had ignored his emails (3 in total) that he could not accept the booking as his apartment was overbooked. As a sign of goodwill and hospitality, he found me an apartment close to the Gruz Harbour at no extra cost. All this time, Hostelworld refused to admit that the mistake was theirs, and claimed they did not receive any email from Tony (I saw all the 3 emails). This will be the last time I book with Hostelworld. Kudos to Tony for helping me find another place to stay.

Personal tour
Despite not staying at his apartment (and therefore not earning $ from me), he picked me up and drove me (and a Swedish couple who only stayed 1 night) to the top of the cable car station, where we had great views of the city. He even brought us into a museum and became a personal tour guide. Excellent service!

In summary, he is a great host with a warm, hospitable attitude. Book early to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo

“Great host and service! Book early!”
Hostelworld booking error
I made a booking for his apartment through Hostelworld and they emailed to cancell the booking 2 weeks later. Tony contacted me and told me that Hostelworld had ignored his emails (3 in total) that he could not accept the booking as his apartment was overbooked. As a sign of goodwill and hospitality, he found me an apartment close to the Gruz Harbour at no extra cost. All this time, Hostelworld refused to admit that the mistake was theirs, and claimed they did not receive any email from Tony (I saw all the 3 emails). This will be the last time I book with Hostelworld. Kudos to Tony for helping me find another place to stay.

Personal tour
Despite not staying at his apartment (and therefore not earning $ from me), he picked me up and drove me (and a Swedish couple who only stayed 1 night) to the top of the cable car station, where we had great views of the city. He even brought us into a museum and became a personal tour guide. Excellent service!

In summary, he is a great host with a warm, hospitable attitude. Book early to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo

“A relaxing place”

I wasn't sure of choosing in the beginning a place which is a little far from the old town, but now I am sure I did the best choice. I really enjoyed the quietness and the hospitality which only Tony can offer. I am planning to go to the same place again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo

“A choice that far from city but a quiet apartment”

We are couples from Hong Kong and stayed there for three nights, we appreciated that the owner could provide free pick up service in the main bus station and drop off facilities to the rent a car office when we left. Despite the room itself is a bit old and the bathroom may have to share with others. The host is a nice person and you could have all kinds of information obtained from him. There is a market under the apartment and you could even make a dinner and have the raw food in that market, supermarkets is only 150 meters from the apt. The apt itself facing the Adrian sea but you have about 120 steps to walk up. Compare with those apt in the city that most of the apts need walking 300-400 steps, it is acceptable.

Room Tip: You can prepare your own breakfast and dinner in the apartment as the kitchen is newly equipped and...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple

it was friendly and nice

Dubrovnik is a nice city and Tony is a very kind host. He offered us hand made pear liqueur with oranges from his neighbor's garden. He also told us about the must-go places and history of the city. The place is 30 minute-walk to the old town but it is worth to walk there if the weather is nice. There are also buses which take only 5 minutes to the center. The apartment was clean and comfortable. If i go to Dubrovnik again, i will certainly stay in Tony's apartment again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple

A great spot!

I stayed only one night with Tony, I have to see Dubrovnik again and I would definately stay here again. Tony was a great host, it is clean, comfertable and good value for money.
It is not in old town but the bus stop is very close down in the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013

Best place with the nicest host!!

Tony apartment is very convenience. It's located not far from the old town of Dubrovnik (just 5-10 mins by bus and the bus stop is opposite to Tony Apartment :D) Not only the apartment is located very close to the bus stop, but also surrounding with fresh market and other shops.

The view from the Tony apartment's balcony is amazing! You can have a coffee and enjoy the great view of Adriatic sea, just 2 steps away from your door. The room that we got is also amazing! There's kitchen with all necessary kitchenware which we can use to cook our meal, and Tony also prepared computer for us in the bedroom which we can use and it comes with free wifi for the entire apartment. The room is very clean and cozy. I really love the place!

Tony and his family are also super nice!! He has a great hospitality!! Tony offered to take us up to the hill to the most beautiful scenic spot of Dubrovnik for free! He also offered us with drinks, snacks and fruits on our arrival and have a really nice talk with us.

If you have any problem or any concerns, you can ask Tony and he's more than welcome to help. My husband and I have to catch a flight on 5am. in the morning and Tony was the one who drove us to the airport! I really can't imagine how to reach to the airport by that time since we have to leave the apartment around 4am. and there's definitely no bus and taxi service by that time. But Tony saved us!!

In conclusion, I would love to recommend this place to be the best place I ever stayed in my entire life! Tony and his family are very very nice. If you looking for a place to stay in Dubrovnik with a very convenience place, very easy to find a food nearby and have a greatest host, Tony Apartment is your answer!! I'll definitely go back there if I have a chance to go to Dubrovnik!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple

Great place to stay in Dubrovnik

Not only was our apartment cheerful and comfortable, but Tony was an amazing host. He picked us up at the Ploce Gate after we arrived on the ferry, drove us to visit the museum on Mt. Srd and dropped us off at our car rental place , all for no extra charge. Dubrovnik can be a bit difficult to navigate, but Tony advised us on where to go and how to get there. We're not big on crowds, so it was nice to be in a non-touristy neighborhood where we could get a sense of what life is like in Dubrovnik while having easy access to the old town by bus. I would highly recommend Tony Apartments as a home away from home in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple

Great place to stay in Dubrovnik

I stayed in August and booked after reading excellent reviews on other website. Tonko and his family are excellent hosts. I booked one bedroom apartment - Very comfortable & spotlessly clean( Don't know how is Snjezana doing it but fair play to her) Wifi and airconditioning is working perfectly. In one word lovely. I was single traveller and I felt very safe. Quiet in the night as well. The location is 30 mins walk from the old town and 25 mins from the beach but there are buses are going every 5 mins and they are very cheap. Well recommended when looking for reasonable priced, clean, comforable apartment in Dubrovnik. Plus you will experience the real croatian hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo

 

More reviews on Tripadvisor